So Close

Mid Shropshire’s over-60s team is still coming to terms with missing out on a record-extending Shropshire veterans inter-league championship success in agonising circumstances.

Captain Peter Spragg’s team went into the last of their four round robin games knowing that victory over Whitchurch on Wrockwardine Wood No.1 would clinch a sixth triumph in the 8-a-side one-day competition that was launched in 2011.

It was effectively a final at teatime on Saturday 11th June, a winner-takes-all clash that could not have started any better for the host league.

A clean sweep of the first four, featuring 21-12 wins by Ian Evans and homester John Clarke, took Mid Shropshire into a seemingly unassailable 27 shot lead.

But, led by unbeaten duo Derek Wright and Cedric Bancroft, Whitchurch rallied in superb style, enjoying their own clean sweep of the back four to snatch victory and the trophy by two chalks, 141-139.

It meant they had won all their four games and, as the only unbeaten team out of five who competed, they were clear table toppers in winning the crown for an historic first time.

Their skipper Simon Fullard received the Derek Wright Shield from County President Mike Potter who, is his role as Mid Shropshire President, presented Peter Spragg with a League 90th anniversary medal as a thank you for his efforts.

Mike thanked host club Wrockwardine Wood for their efforts on the day, the Cotton family and groundsman Tony Garmson in particular, adding it had been a good day which had effectively come down to a last game final.

Mid Shropshire had lost to the last winners of the vets, Tanners Shropshire in 2019, on the No.2 green early in the day but recovered well to defeat Shropshire Ladies by 44 before their last gasp disappointment.

The competition was sponsored for the first time by Shropshire Vertidrain & Turf Services Ltd, thanks to Mike Humprhies and Paul Beer.

 SO CLOSE – Mid Shropshire veterans who were pipped at the post in the decisive last game: Back (from left) Kevin Carter, David Brown, Norman Harvey, Ian Evans, Les Mumford, front, John Clarke, Dave Price, Peter Spragg, Tomny Roche

For full results please see