Life Members

In 2017 the Mid-Shropshire Bowling League decided to give recognition to the efforts of bowlers who have endeavoured to further the sport of Crown Green Bowls at:- National, County, League, or Club level.

Mabel Finnigan – Broseley – 2020

Mabel can only be described as the rock of women’s bowling in Shropshire. The founder and sole secretary of the Telford Ladies Afternoon League for nearly 30 years; treasurer of the Shrewsbury Ladies League for 26 years; a captain and official of the Shropshire Ladies association, including president. And I’m sure that’s not the half of it! She has treasured memories of her time at Dun Cow Bowling Club, Madeley Court and now Broseley – and if anyone deserves to be the first female recipient of a life membership from this League, for all she has done for the sport in this area and throughout Shropshire, then it is Mabel

Bob Mumford – Much Wenlock – 2020

Simply has to be one of the most popular people in Mid Shropshire bowling circles. He loves playing the sport and always has time for a chat, his devotion to the Much Wenlock club shining through conversations. A good bowler, Bob is also one of the top referees to have come through the ranks in Shropshire, officiating at top tournaments and he’s still active at league and county level. We don’t think he should be an unsung hero any longer and that is the reason for this award to Bob

Ian Gaut – St Georges – 2021

Quite simply one of the greatest administrators to have graced the game in Shropshire. And it all started with a short spell as fixture secretary of this League before a meteoric rise to become county secretary in 1994 and start the computerised revolution of the game. In the very same year he became the first secretary of the new Shropshire Premier League and remained at the forefront of changing things for the improvement of bowlers and bowls in the county for a decade, also serving the Donnington Wood and St Georges clubs with distinction. His life membership of the Premier League was long overdue and now it is our turn to pay tribute and say thank you to Ian. 

Richard Chesters – Edgmond – 2019

Richard should be called ‘Mr Edgmond’ because his service to the village club stretches back over four decades. In fact it wasn’t until 1976 that Edgmond joined the Mid Shropshire League – and two years later he became secretary of the club. Since then he has been their delegate to the League – and in 1990 he had the honour of being elected chairman of the Mid Shropshire League, a year that saw Donnington Wood crowned champions and Peter Farmer win the Merit. 

Ran Adams – Madeley CC – 2019

Ron has been secretary, chairman and president for our neighbours, the Highley League, and he has loyally served on the county executive committee for an amazing 40 years. That service to Shropshire continues today on behalf of the Mid Shropshire Senior Citizens League, for whom he’s been a popular and long serving treasurer and past president. 

John Hughes – HUSC – 2018

John Hughes is a respected former competition secretary, junior selector and sponsorship guru who continues to help the League with its on-going deal with Molson Coors. He also served as county treasurer and a Shropshire junior selector.  

Steve Wall – Albrighton – 2018

A long serving stalwart of Albrighton BC. Steve has also supported the league for almost 30 years in various roles of Chair, County Rep, Fixture Sec, Webmaster. He has been instrumental in implementing and promoting many of the new technologies used by the league. 

Frank Booth (Deceased) – Madeley CC – 2018

Serving both the MSBL and the Mid-Shropshire Senior Citizens League, through various roles which have included Chair of the MSSCL, Fixture Sec for both MSBL and MSSCL, where he has been instrumental in introducing new technologies.  

Jeff Hutchinson – SJB – 2017

Awarded in recognition to the long term commitment and outstanding work on behalf of the League and SCGBA. Past league secretary and president who represented Mid Shropshire as County President in 2005.

Malcolm Fletcher – Ex Ercall Magna – 2017
Malcolm has played a key role in developing the league through his tenure as Secretary which has culminated in securing significant grants for Junior Bowls development. Malcolm also represented the league at County Level ensuring the voice of MSBL is heard and acted upon.
Barry Griffiths – St Georges – 2017

Awarded for long term commitment to the League, SCGBA and BCGBA .