More History

Two more slices of Mid Shropshire history have been made in this, the League’s 90th anniversary year.

The Over-60 Merit returned to the same venue, Trench, where the competition was played for the first time back in 2016, and – like then – it ended with the same winner!

That was Dave Brown, now bowling full-time with Sinclair, who defeated last year’s champion Kevin Carter (Broseley) 21-9 in the final on a day that saw Helen Clee of Wrockwardine Wood become the first lady bowler to compete in it.

But it was Dave who came out on top of 9 entries to earn the right to have his named engraved on the Ray & Jeff Hutchinson Trophy for a second time

The 2022 Over-60 Merit entrants face the came at Trench: Back (from left) Dave Brown, Dave Wall, Pete Spragg, Kevin Carter, Keith Pessall; front, Tony Roche, Helen Clee, Steve Wall, Dave Oldcorn,

For full details see Competition News.

Now all the over-60s who bowl in the League will be waiting to see who is selected to represent Mid Shropshire in the Shropshire veterans inter-league championship on Saturday 11th June at Wrockwardine Wood.

The squad to be captained by Peter Spragg will be finalised at a meeting this week.